Der Kulturrat der ersten Völker führte 2003 FirstVoices 1.0 ein, um Tools zur Dokumentation der 34 individuellen Sprachen der indigenen Bevölkerung in der kanadischen Provinz British Columbia zur Verfügung zu stellen. British Columbia ist mit einem Anteil von 60 % an den indigenen Sprachen Kanadas die Region mit der größten Sprachvielfalt. Jedoch befinden sich die indigenen Sprachen und Dialekte in dieser Provinz in einer Notsituation, da insgesamt weniger als 6000 Menschen sie heute noch beherrschen.

Zwei Lehrer entwickelten das Konzept ursprünglich in einer kleinen Stammesschule und inzwischen dient FirstVoices der Dokumentation von über 60 Sprachen und Dialekten in Kanada, den Vereinigten Staaten und Australien. FirstVoices ist eine Plattform für technisch versierte indigene Jugendliche, die sich mit fließend sprechenden älteren Generationen zusammentun, um deren Sprache für ihre Nachfahren zu bewahren.

FirstVoices und Nuxeo: Übereinstimmung von Technologie und Philosophie

Moderne und sichere Wissensmanagement-Lösung

Die Erfassung indigener Sprachkenntnisse ist das Hauptanliegen von FirstVoices. Die Organisation sammelt diese Kenntnisse vor Ort, indem sie eng mit den Stammesgemeinschaften in ihrem Einzugsgebiet zusammenarbeitet. Das Vorgehen von FirstVoices besteht darin, Trainer in indigene Gemeinschaften zu entsenden, wo diese ein bis zwei Wochen leben. Schulungen können außerdem auch remote durchgeführt werden.

In dieser Zeit vermitteln die Trainer den Sprachenthusiasten vor Ort die neuesten Techniken, mit denen sie Text, Audio, Video, Fotos und andere sprachliche Ressourcen aufnehmen und in die robuste FirstVoices-Online-Datenbank hochladen können.

Wo die Aufzeichnung indigener Sprachen an sich schon komplex zu sein schien, gab es für FirstVoices eine noch größere Herausforderung, als Version 2.0 der internetbasierten Plattform eingeführt werden sollte: Welche Architektur eignete sich für eine zeitgemäße und sichere Betreuung ihrer Gemeinschaften?

Anwenderfreundliche Lösung mit wenig Code

Für effektive Aufzeichnung, Erhalt und Schutz indigener Sprachen, Dialekte und Schriftzeichen benötigte man eine moderne, offene Wissensmanagement-Plattform.

Nuxeo hat unsere Aufmerksamkeit zum einen auf sich gezogen, weil wir die Content-Services-Plattform einfach adaptieren und konfigurieren konnten, sodass sie uns den Erhalt indigener Sprachen ermöglichte - zum anderen fiel uns das Unternehmen durch seinen reinen Open-Source-Ansatz auf. Unsere Organisation glaubt an das philosophische Prinzip “Man stellt Wohlstand zur Schau, indem man ihn verschenkt und Nuxeos offener Ansatz in Sachen Software-Code verkörpert dieses Prinzip.
Dan Nevin, FirstVoices-Berater.

Bei der Konfiguration der Plattform und beim Cloud-Hosting profitierte FirstVoices vom Know-how der Beratungs- und Professional-Services-Teams von Nuxeo, um so den Wissensmanagement-Bedürfnissen der Organisation und der von ihr betreuten Gemeinschaft gerecht zu werden.

Die Interaktion mit Nuxeos Team war von Anfang an großartig. Unsere Termine mit den Beratungs- und Professional-Services-Teams von Nuxeo waren qualitativ hervorragend.
Daniel Yona, FirstVoices-Entwicklungsmanager.

Nuxeo - die Content-Services-Plattform, die FirstVoices antreibt

Schnelle und flexible Lösung

Der Kulturrat der ersten Völker ist in der Lage Nuxeo zu nutzen, um die erfolgreichsten Ansätze und Technologien auszuschöpfen - sowohl jetzt als auch in Zukunft.

Wir fanden mit Nuxeo eine sehr ausgereifte Lösung, die schnell und flexibel war und uns auch erstklassige Leistung brachte. Die Plattform war für die Einführung der Version 2.0 von FirstVoices absolut unerlässlich.

Nuxeo ist eine reine Open-Source-Plattform und das ist uns wichtig. Tatsächlich ist Nuxeo meiner Erfahrung nach eine der wenigen Firmen, deren Produktentwicklung völlig transparent ist. Die Arbeit mit einer offenen Plattform wie Nuxeo hilft uns dabei, den Bevölkerungsgruppen, für die wir verantwortlich sind, unsere Integrität zu beweisen.

Plattformarchitektur für die Sprache von heute und morgen

Nuxeo dient als Plattform für die Speicherung und Verwaltung, den Schutz und Zugriff auf indigene Sprachschätze durch die Gemeinschaften, die FirstVoices betreut.

Zurzeit speichert und verwaltet FirstVoices ungefähr 400.000 Objekte auf der Nuxeo Platform, doch es wird erwartet, dass diese Anzahl weiterhin wächst.

Die Organisation nutzt Nuxeos Workflow-Management-Funktionen, um zu validieren, was eine “minimal überlebensfähige Aufzeichnung” darstellt, um sie dann in FirstVoices zu speichern und zu verwalten.
Mit den Verwaltungsfunktionen von Nuxeo kann FirstVoices den Zugriff auf bestimmte Dateien und Objekte beschränken.

Viele Ausdrücke sind unseren jeweiligen Gemeinschaften heilig, deshalb ist es wichtig, dass sie ihre Sprachdateien und Zugriffsberechtigungen darauf selbst kontrollieren können. In der Entwicklungsphase von FirstVoices 2.0 stellten wir fest, dass Nuxeo in Bezug auf viele wesentliche kulturelle Besonderheiten, die indigenen Gemeinschaften wichtig sind, wie z. B. wo die Kulturgüter gespeichert und wie sie verwaltet werden, die beste Plattform war.
Tracey Herbert, Geschäftsführerin des Kulturrats der ersten Völker (gemeinnützige Organisation, die FirstVoices verwaltet)

Umsetzung eines gewagten Plans für die Verbesserung von FirstVoices.com - dank Nuxeo

Nachdem Version 2.0 von FirstVoices nun livegeschaltet ist, überlegt die Organisation, wie sie die Nuxeo Platform noch weiter einsetzen kann, um die Verwaltung von und den Zugriff auf Sprachgut zu verbessern.

Wir nutzen wahrscheinlich nur einen Bruchteil der Leistung, die die Nuxeo Platform uns bringen kann. Wir möchten in Zukunft immer mehr von Nuxeos Angebotspalette nutzen
meint Nevin.

Wir ziehen eine mögliche Nutzung virtueller Computerlaufwerke zur verbesserten Verwaltung umfangreicher Dateien und Inhalte in Erwägung. Auch mobile Anwendungen, die unseren Teams die Aufzeichnung von Sprachgut vor Ort erleichtern, untersuchen wir.

Ohne Nuxeos Hilfe könnten wir die Erhaltung der indigenen Sprachen unserer Gegend nicht so unterstützen, wie wir es gegenwärtig tun
fügt Herbert hinzu.

The First Peoples’ Cultural Council launched FirstVoices 1.0 in 2003 to provide multilingual language documentation tools to the 34 distinct First Nations languages of British Columbia, Canada. British Columbia has the greatest diversity of Indigenous languages in Canada, representing 60 percent of all Indigenous languages in the country. Indigenous languages in the province are in a state of emergency with fewer than 6,000 total speakers across all languages and dialects.

Initially envisioned by two teaching colleagues in a small tribal school, FirstVoices now serves over 60 languages and dialects in Canada, the United States, and Australia. FirstVoices provides a dynamic platform for technically-savvy Indigenous youth to partner with their fluent speaking elders to document their languages for future generations.

FirstVoices and Nuxeo: Aligned Technologically and Philosophically

A Modern & Secure Knowledge Management Solution

Capturing Indigenous language knowledge is core to the FirstVoices mission. The organization conducts field acquisition of this knowledge by working closely with the tribal communities they serve. This process consists of sending FirstVoices trainers to live in First Nations communities for 1-2 weeks at a time. Training workshops are also conducted remotely.

During this time, trainers share the latest techniques with teams of community-based language champions to capture text, audio, videos, photos and other language resources for upload to the robust online FirstVoices database.

first voices

As complex as the Indigenous language capture process sounds, the bigger challenge facing FirstVoices as they set to launch the 2.0 version of their web-based platform was how to best architect it to deliver the capabilities necessary to serve communities in a manner that was modern and secure.

A Low-Code Solution Easy to Use

In order to effectively capture, preserve and protect Indigenous languages, dialects, and alphabets, a modern and open technology platform for knowledge management was needed.

Nuxeo came to our attention not only because we could easily adapt and configure their Content Services Platform in ways that enabled us to preserve native languages, but also because of their true open-source approach. Philosophically, our organization believes in the principle that ‘one demonstrates wealth by giving it away,’ and Nuxeo’s open approach to their software code embodies this principle.
Dan Nevin, FirstVoices Consultant.

FirstVoices tapped the Nuxeo consulting and professional services teams to help configure the platform and host it in the cloud to meet the knowledge management needs of their organization as well as the communities it serves.

From the beginning, we’ve had great interactions with Nuxeo’s team. The quality of our engagements with consulting and professional services teams at Nuxeo has been outstanding.
Daniel Yona, FirstVoices Development Manager.

Nuxeo – the Content Services Engine Powering FirstVoices

A Fast & Flexible Solution

The First Peoples’ Cultural Council is able to leverage Nuxeo to take advantage of best-of-breed approaches and technologies—both now and in the future.

In Nuxeo, we saw a very mature solution that was fast and flexible, and that also gave us great performance. The platform was absolutely core to our ability to launch the 2.0 version of FirstVoices.



Nuxeo is true open source, and that was important to us. In fact, Nuxeo is one of the few companies I’ve seen with full transparency on their product development process. Working with an open platform like Nuxeo helps to demonstrate our integrity to the communities we serve.




first voices

Architected for Today & Tomorrow’s Language

Nuxeo serves as the platform for how Indigenous language assets are stored, managed, protected, and accessed by the communities FirstVoices serves.

FirstVoices currently stores and manages approximately 400,000 objects in Nuxeo, a number they expect will continue to grow.

The organization uses Nuxeo’s workflow management capabilities to validate what constitutes a “minimally viable record” to be stored and managed within FirstVoices.
FirstVoices leverages the permissions management features in Nuxeo to help restrict access to certain files and objects.

Many words are sacred within each of our communities, so it was important that our stakeholder communities be in control of their language data, including who has access. As we were developing FirstVoices 2.0, we found Nuxeo to be the best platform to address many key cultural considerations important to First Nations communities, such as where cultural assets are stored and how they’re managed.
Tracey Herbert, CEO of the First Peoples’ Cultural Council (the non-profit organization that manages FirstVoices)

A Bold Plan for Enhancing FirstVoices.com to Be Realized – Thanks to Nuxeo

With the 2.0 edition of FirstVoices now live, the organization is looking at how it can further leverage the Nuxeo platform to improve how it manages and provides access to language assets.

We feel like we’re only utilizing a fraction of the power that the Nuxeo platform can provide. We intend to use more and more of the Nuxeo stack going forward.
said Nevin.

We’re looking at ways we can utilize virtual drives to help us better manage large volumes of data and content as well as mobile apps to make it easier for community language teams to capture language assets while in the field.

We could not help to preserve the Indigenous languages in our region in the manner we are without the help of Nuxeo,
added Herbert.


FirstVoices.com is a ground-breaking Indigenous language archiving and teaching resource. The platform is designed to support Indigenous people based in British Columbia (Canada) engaged in language archiving, language teaching and culture revitalization. The FirstVoices language archive contains thousands of text entries in many diverse Indigenous writing systems, enhanced with sounds, pictures and videos. A companion set of interactive online games is designed to present the archived FirstVoices language data in creative learning activities and environments. Some language archives at FirstVoices are publicly accessible, while others are password protected at the request of the language community.