Le défi : contrôler et gérer les ressources publicitaires mondiales qui ont été personnalisées pour des centaines de marchés locaux

En tant que leader mondial dans le domaine de la publicité et avec des clients de renommée internationale, TBWA est bien conscient que le succès d’une campagne de publicité dépend largement de la collaboration entre les entreprises et les nombreuses agences locales réparties dans le monde entier :

  • Une communication efficace et standardisée au niveau régional et mondial avec une distribution spécifique des contenus marketing pour chaque public cible à travers le monde
  • Le suivi et le contrôle des publications dans les différents pays
  • Répondre aux attentes des clients en maximisant l’efficacité financière et en atteignant un prix plus bas par unité et une uniformisation des processus

"Nos clients veulent centraliser leurs processus de gestion des documents numériques," explique Stefan Born, Directeur IT chez TBWA pour l’Allemagne, l’Europe centrale et Europe de l’Est, "que ce soit en collaborant avec nous sur la création des principaux contenus multimédia (vidéo, audio, impressions, Web et autres médias numériques), en passant par la gestion des adaptations, qui est l’une des parties les plus importantes et complexes d’une campagne marketing internationale. "

Dans une époque où le marketing est mondialisé, une adaptation est une version d’un actif principal qui est personnalisée pour une utilisation spécifique dans un pays ou une région du monde, et qui est créée par des agences locales dans ces zones.

Un programme mondial de publicité nécessite généralement des centaines d’adaptations, chacune constituée de plusieurs procédés clés qui doivent être finalisés avec soin et dans les temps :

  • Briefings : Demandes venant d’une agence locale pour créer une adaptation d’un document multimédia, incluant tous les détails des étapes nécessaires
  • Transcréation : Traduction très précise d’un langage qui s’adapte et respecte la culture locale
  • Gestion post-production, tel que le doublage d’une vidéo ou d’un fichier audio dans la langue locale
  • Gestion des droits : le client peut courir d’importants risques si un document est utilisé sans droits contractuels locaux ou globaux en place :
  • Droit à l’image des acteurs, musiciens, et autres artistes permettant l’utilisation de leur image ou de leur propriété intellectuelle dans un quelconque contenu audiovisuel
  • Droits d’utilisation définissant quand et où un contenu multimédia peut apparaître à la télévision, radio, en version papier…
  • Fonctionnalités de Digital Asset Management telles que les versions, le transcodage et autres.

Récemment, TBWA a sélectionné Nuxeo en tant que nouvelle plateforme de gestion des médias, pour fournir à ses clients un nouveau niveau de gestion des processus, de performance opérationnelle et de réduction des coûts, au delà de ce qui avait été possible en utilisant la solution créée en interne à TBWA.

L’équipe technologique de TBWA a utilisé Nuxeo Platform pour créer pour l’un de ses principaux clients une nouvelle application appelée GAME (Global Adaptation Management Engine) afin de gérer plus efficacement les processus de gestion des adaptations entre différents pays, agences et partenaires

"Nuxeo Platform nous a permis de faire le point sur notre framework actuel et de proposer rapidement de nombreuses améliorations à nos clients," commente Stefan Born.

La solution : Nuxeo Platform pour construire une nouvelle application de gestion de médias mondiaux… En seulement trois semaines

En activant l’outil de configuration et de personnalisation en ligne de Nuxeo, (Nuxeo Studio), "Nous avons développé l’application GAME en tout juste trois semaines, avec seulement une aide mineure des architectes de Nuxeo," explique Stefan Born.

Travaillant à l’élaboration d’un modèle de métadonnées riche et complexe ainsi qu’un workflow personnalisé en utilisant Nuxeo Platform, TBWA a résolu avec succès les problèmes de la gestion des adaptations de son client, et a proposé de nouvelles fonctionnalités clés, telles que :

  • Une amélioration significative de la collaboration entre TBWA et le client pendant la création du contenu, mais aussi entre le client et les agences locales, tirant parti du moteur de workflow flexible de Nuxeo Platform
  • Une automatisation efficace des tâches quotidiennes, mais de première importance, telles que la création d’une nouvelle mission à réception d’un brief d’une agence locale, suivi plus tard par sa livraison au pays spécifique
  • Lien rapide et facile entre tous les types de contenus numériques, du document multimédia principal au brief en passant par les adaptations
  • Gestion des droits d’utilisation et de l’image complète, transparente et traçable

“Notre application GAME ne permet pas seulement de gérer les workflows d’adaptation mais elle fournit également à notre client un outil complet de gestion et de suivi des processus internes," dit Stefan Born, "incluant une intégration homogène des département juridique, d’approvisionnement et de production établissant des contrôles d’accès sur les contenus multimédia et personnalisant les workflows qui créent les documents qui sont ensuite envoyés dans la plateforme.”

“Un autre point capital pour nous a été que Nuxeo ne demande pas de détruire et de remplacer notre infrastructure technologique existante," ajoute Stefan Born. "Par exemple, nos clients voulaient continuer à utiliser les outils de gestion des documents qui étaient déjà en place. Cela n’a pas été un problème, grâce à l’API hautement extensible et connectable de Nuxeo, que nous avons utilisée pour intégrer les évènements d’activité créés par notre outil existant dans les workflows personnalisés de Nuxeo.”

La nouvelle application de gestion des fichiers multimédia de TBWA, basée sur Nuxeo Platform, propose une nouvelle valeur ajoutée à tous les participants des campagnes marketing mondiales :

Client Agences locales TBWA
Contrôle de toutes les adaptations au travers de processus standards et orientés workflow Processus de gestion d’adaptation orienté workflow qui remplace les échanges par mail Amélioration de la rentabilité et de l’efficacité
Vue entièrement transparente de tout le système de production Alignement rapide avec le client et interactions transparentes sur le contenu Amélioration de la transparence
Gestion des ressources rentable et extensible Visibilité complète du processus et retours/approbations simplifiés Amélioration du service client
Gestion des droits d’utilisation au niveau mondial Gestion des droits d’utilisation au niveau local Nuxeo fournit une base solide pour une croissance future

Pour résumer les progrès réalisés par TBWA jusqu’à présent avec Nuxeo Platform, Stefan Born dit, ”Notre application GAME va rationaliser et intégrer l’ensemble du processus et fournir des informations importantes à la bonne personne au bon moment. Nous avons également hâte d’utiliser très bientôt plus de fonctionnalités de la plateforme, notamment en introduisant une application GAME mobile.”

“Nuxeo n’est pas seulement une bibliothèque média pour nous, c’est aussi une plateforme de développement centrale pour la création d’applications de gestion des contenus multimédia avec des workflows automatisés que nous utilisons en collaboration avec nos clients pour créer l’ensemble des contenus marketing. Nuxeo nous permet de maximiser la valeur ajoutée de nos clients sur ces contenus multimédia. ”

Pas le temps de tout lire ?

  • Collaboration améliorée entre TBWA et leurs clients pendant le processus de création des actifs
  • Automatisation efficace
  • Lien rapide et facile entre les actifs médias
  • Gestion avancée des droits et talents

Vous voulez en savoir plus ?

TBWA

Industry: Media & Entertainment


Project Highlights:
  • Improved collaboration between TBWA and the client during the asset creation process
  • Effective automation
  • Quick and easy linking to all types of assets
  • Advanced talent and rights management

Our clients are looking to centralize their media asset management processes, from collaborating with us on the creation of master assets to management of adaptations – one of the most complex parts of a global marketing campaign.
Stefan Born, TBWA director of IT for Germany, Central and Eastern Europe

TBWA, part of the Omnicom Group, is a top-ten ranked global advertising network with over 11,100 employees across 323 offices in 97 countries. The company’s global client list includes Accenture, Adidas, Apple, Energizer, Gatorade, GSK, Henkel, McDonald’s, Michelin and Nissan.

Challenge: Control and manage global advertising assets customized to suit hundreds of local markets

As an advertising leader serving some of the world’s best-known brands, TBWA knows firsthand that a successful global campaign requires highly effective collaboration with each client company and dozens of local agencies around the world, including:

  • Efficient, standardized communication on a regional and global level, including proper distribution of marketing assets to each target audience around the world
  • Monitoring and control of go-to-market timing across respective countries
  • Maximizing financial efficiency – as expected by client firms – by achieving lower price per unit and streamlining all processes

"Our clients are looking to centralize their media asset management processes," explains Stefan Born, TBWA director of IT for Germany, Central and Eastern Europe, "from collaborating with us on the creation of master assets (video, audio, print, web and other digital media), to management of adaptations, which is one of the biggest and most complex parts of a global marketing campaign."

In the global marketing world, an adaptation is a version of a master asset customized for use in a particular country or region of the world, created by agencies local to that area.

A global advertising program typically requires hundreds of adaptations, each consisting of several key concurrent processes that must be completed with great care and in timely fashion:

  • Briefings: Requests from a local agency to create an adaptation of a given master asset, including full details of work required
  • Transcreation: Very precise language translation that aligns with and respects local culture
  • Post-production management, such as a new local language voiceover for a video or audio asset
  • Rights management: The client can incur significant liability if an asset is used without the proper global and local level contractual rights in place:
  • Talent rights from actors, musicians and other performers permitting use of their likeness and/or intellectual property in a media asset
  • Usage rights defining when and where an asset may appear on TV, radio, print, etc.
  • Digital asset management functions such as versioning, transcoding and more

Recently TBWA selected Nuxeo as its new Media Asset Management platform to provide clients with a new level of process management, operational performance and cost effectiveness, beyond what was possible using TBWA’s existing homegrown solutions.

The TBWA technology team utilized the Nuxeo Platform to build a new application called GAME (Global Adaptation Management Engine) for one of the company’s largest clients, to more effectively manage its adaptation management processes across its many countries, agencies and partners.“ The Nuxeo Platform has allowed us to review and assess the framework we had built so far and quickly add critical new value for our client,” says Stefan Born.


Solution: Nuxeo Platform to build a new global media asset management application… in just three weeks

Actively leveraging Nuxeo’s web-based configuration and customization tool (Nuxeo Studio), which eliminates virtually all custom coding, "We developed the new GAME application in just three weeks, with only some minor assistance from a Nuxeo solutions architect,” says Stefan Born.

Working together to develop a rich and complex metadata model and customized workflows using the Nuxeo Platform, TBWA successfully resolved its client’s specific adaptation management challenges and provided critical additional functionality, including:

  • Significantly improved collaboration between TBWA and the client during the asset creation process, as well as between the customer and local agencies on adaptations, leveraging Nuxeo’s flexible workflow engine
  • Effective automation of mundane but highly critical tasks, such as creating a new job upon receipt of a briefing from a local agency, directed to appropriate TBWA managers for approval, followed later by delivery of the adaptation to the subsequent delivery of the adaptation to the local country
  • Quick and easy linking to all types of assets, from master assets to briefings and adaptations
  • Complete, transparent and traceable talent and usage rights management

“Our GAME application not only improves handling of adaptation workflows but also gives our client a comprehensive tool to manage and supervise internal processes,” Stefan Born says, “including seamlessly integrating procurement, legal and production, establishing access controls on the assets, and customizing the workflows that create the assets which are then put into the Nuxeo repository.”

“Another important point for us is Nuxeo does not require you to rip and replace your existing technology infrastructure,” Stefan Born adds. “For example, our clients wanted to keep using certain existing asset management-related tools already in place. We leveraged Nuxeo’s highly pluggable and extensible API to integrate activity events generated by our existing tool within custom Nuxeo workflows.”

TBWA’s new Nuxeo-powered media asset management application provides significant new value for all global marketing campaign stakeholders:












Client Local Agencies TBWA


  • Control of all adaptations through standard, workflow-driven process

  • Fully transparent, visible view into all adaptation production

  • Cost efficient and scalable resource management

  • Global usage rights management


  • Clear workflow-driven adaptation process replaces long chain email exchanges

  • Quick alignment with client company and transparent interaction on content

  • Full visibility on process and easy feedback/approvals

  • Local-level usage rights management


  • Greater automation and efficiency

  • Greater transparency

  • Improved client service and satisfaction Nuxeo provides a solid foundation for future growth and expansion

  • Nuxeo provides a solid foundation for future growth and expansion

Summing up the benefits TBWA has realized thus far with the Nuxeo Platform, Stefan Born says, “Our new GAME application will further streamline and integrate the overall process and provide critical information to the right person at the right time. We are also looking forward very soon to utilizing much more of the functionality the Nuxeo Platform offers, including introducing mobile GAME applications.”

“Nuxeo is not only a media asset library for us; it is also our primary development platform for building media asset management applications with automated workflows we use in collaboration with our clients to create all of our marketing assets. Nuxeo allows us to maximize the value our clients gain from those assets.”